State # of PDH Renewal Date Comments
Alabama 15 PDH Dec. 31 every year
Alaska 24 PDH Dec. 31 odd years Personal self-improvement courses, equipment demonstrations, trade shows, and topics not relevant to the registrant’s field of practice will not be accepted for PDH credit.
Arkansas 30 PDH December 31 of even-numbered years for licenses ending with an even number.

December 31 of odd-numbered years for licenses ending with an odd number.

Delaware 24 PDH June 30 of even-numbered years
  • A minimum of 3 PDH up to a maximum of 6 PDH must be related to professional ethics
  • A maximum of 9 PDH can be related to project management or business skills
Florida 18 PDH Feb. 28 of odd-numbered years
  • Activities must be presented by a board-approved provider/sponsor in order for the activity to be accepted.
  • The licensee must earn 1 PDH relating to Florida’s engineering laws and rules, 1 PDH must relate to professional ethics; 4 PDH must directly relate to the licensee’s area of practice
  • Personal self-improvement courses, equipment demonstrations, trade shows, and personal, estate, or financial planning courses will not be accepted for PDH credit.
Georgia 30 PDH Dec. 31 of even-numbered years
Idaho 30 PDH The last day of the engineer’s birth month.

Those born in even years expire in even years.

Those born in odd years expire in odd years

A maximum of 3 PDH per biennial renewal period can be earned through documented self-study, such as reading articles, books, journals, and published papers. One PDH is earned for every two hours of study time.
Illinois 30 PDH November 30 of odd-numbered years for Professional Engineers

November 30 of even-numbered years for Structural Engineers

For Structural Engineers, no more than 10 hours of the 30 hours required may be earned through online continuing education and webinars cannot be used as continuing education for Illinois Structural Engineers.
Indiana 30 PDH July 31 of even-numbered years
  • At least one PDH must be in ethics applicable to the practice of engineering and at least one PDH must be on the subject of Indiana’s engineering laws and rules.
  • Indiana does approve continuing education providers, but does not require engineers to complete activities using an approved provider.
Iowa 30 PDH December 31 of even-numbered years for engineers who were initially licensed in an even–numbered year.

December 31 of odd-numbered years for engineers who were initially licensed in an odd–numbered year.

  • Group 1 activities are intended to maintain, improve, or expand skills and knowledge obtained prior to initial licensure. Limitations on the number of hours allowed in each type of course area are: Mathematics and Basic Science (10 PDH); Engineering Sciences (10 PDH); Humanities and Social Sciences (5 PDH); Engineering curriculum courses (10 PDH)
  • Group 2 activities include postgraduate level engineering science or design, new technology, environmental regulation, and courses in management of engineering. There are no limitations on the number of hours allowed for group 2 activities.
  • Lunch & learns and live, interactive webinars can be used to earn all of the mandated PDH credits. However, online self-study courses are considered “independent study” by the Board and are capped at a maximum of 10 PDH each renewal period.
  • Courses in CAD and fundamental computer applications will generally not be acceptable as either Group 1 or Group 2 activities. Only computer courses that have the solution of engineering problems as a purpose will be considered acceptable.
Kansas 30 PDH April 30 of even-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters A through L.

April 30 of odd-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters M through Z.

Kentucky 30 PDH June 30 of odd years for engineers with last names beginning with A – K.

June 30 of even years for engineers with last names beginning with L – Z.

Louisiana 30 PDH Biennially; March 31 and September 30 based on the year of initial licensure
  • The Board does not pre-approve specific courses, but does pre-approve course sponsors. Engineers are not required to earn hours from an approved sponsor.
  • For all engineers, at least 1 PDH of the 30 PDH required must be earned in Professional Ethics. For engineers who design buildings and/or building systems, a minimum of 8 PDH shall be earned in Life Safety Code, Building Codes, and/or Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines.
Maine 30 PDH October 31 of odd numbered years
Maryland 24 PDH Biennially based on the licensee’s date of birth
  • Programs are divided into Category A and Category B types and must be provided by a pre-approved sponsor.
  • Category A programs must focus on technical, laws and rules, standards of practice or care, professional ethics, project management, risk assessment or similar topics. A minimum of 18 PDH must be earned with Category A programs. At least 1 PDH must be in the area of standards of practice or care, Maryland laws and regulations, or professional engineering ethics.
  • Category B programs must focus on business or government administration, communication skills, personal management skills or similar topics. A maximum of 6 PDH may be earned with Category B programs.
  • The following topics will not be accepted for PDH credit: marketing or business development or sales; equipment demonstrations or trade show displays; time management techniques and strategies; computer-aided drafting; conversational language courses for personal use; basic computer software, such as Excel or Word.
Michigan 30 PDH October 31 of odd numbered years
Minnesota 30 PDH June 30 of even-numbered years At least 2 PDH each renewal cycle must be in the subject of engineering ethics.
Mississippi 15 PDH Dec. 31 every year At least 1 PDH must be earned in Ethics training every two years.
Missouri 30 PDH December 31 biennially based on the year of initial licensure
Montana 30 PDH June 30 of even-numbered years A maximum of 10 PDH will be allowed per renewal cycle for self-study. Self-study is considered a formatted review of new subject matter or technical information such as video tapes series, Internet courses that do not include a final examination, etc.)
Nebraska 30 PDH January 1 of even-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters A through K.

January 1 of odd-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters L through Z

A maximum of 7 PDH will be allowed per renewal cycle for web-based activities, such as online courses and webinars, except that web-based activities provided by specified organizations, such as state agencies, accredited colleges or universities or professional engineering societies are not subject to this limitation.
Nevada 30 PDH January 1 of odd-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters A through E.

July 1 of odd-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters F through K.

January 1 of even-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters L through R.

July 1 of even-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters S through Z

New Hampshire 30 PDH Renewal is on the last day of the licensee’s birth month.

Licenses initially issued in even-numbered years renew in even-numbered years.

Licenses initially issued in odd-numbered years renew in odd-numbered years.

New Jersey 24 PDH April 30th of even numbered years
  • All continuing education courses must be taken from approved providers.
  • A minimum of 2 credits must be earned in the area of professional ethics. No more than 8 hours of ethics training can be credited in any one renewal period.
  • Courses in the area of practice management, practice marketing, or practice building will not be accepted.
New Mexico 30 PDH December 31 of even-numbered years for engineers with license numbers ending with an even number.

December 31 of odd-numbered years for engineers with license numbers ending with an odd number.

At least 4 PDH must be earned in ethics
New York 36 PDH Every 3 years based on the licensee’s date of birth
  • All continuing education courses must be taken from approved providers.
  • Approved topics include engineering, architecture, land surveying; or other matters of law and/or ethics which contribute to the professional practice in engineering and the health, safety, and/or welfare of the public
  • Non-approved topics include project management related to improving/maximizing profitability and professional fees; marketing and public relations; expanding a design professional’s business; laws related to arbitration, mediation, liens and limiting the design professional’s liability; basic Auto CAD; personal, estate or financial planning; zoning as it relates to increasing a developer or engineer/land surveyor’s profitability; design build and/or alternative delivery methods
  • A minimum of 1 PDH must be earned in the area of professional ethics
  • Up to 18 PDH may be earned through self-study activities that don’t require immediate interaction with the instructor.
  • A minimum of 18 PDH must be earned through activities that provide immediate interaction between the student and the instructor.
North Carolina 15 PDH Dec. 31 every year The Board pre-approves course sponsors. Engineers are not required to earn hours from an approved sponsor.
North Dakota 30 PDH December 31 biennially depending on initial year of licensure
  • At least 20 PDH must be in technical areas that directly safeguard the public’s health, safety, and welfare including technical professional management subjects, such as total quality process or technical engineering.
  • A maximum of 10 PDH may be in non-technical professional management subjects, such as ethics or administration-oriented courses.
Ohio 30 PDH December 31 in odd-numbered years
  • The Board uses the term “correspondence courses” to describe courses that are self-paced where participation is not monitored by the course provider. No more than 6 PDH per biennial renewal cycle can be earned through correspondence courses.
  • There is no limit on the number of PDH that can be earned through live webinars and lunch & learns, provided the activity is timed and monitored by the sponsor.
  • Business skills, personal development skills, computer skills unrelated to the practice of engineering, and subjects that are considered elementary or entry-level and normally expected to have been completed by a PE prior to registration are not accepted.
Oklahoma 30 PDH Biennially; the last day of the month based on date of initial licensure
Oregon 30 PDH December 31 of odd-numbered years for licensees with last names beginning with A through F.
June 30 of odd-numbered years for licensees with last names beginning with G through K.
December 31 of even-numbered years for licensees with last names beginning with L through R.
June 30 of even-numbered years for licensees with last names beginning with S through Z.
Pennsylvania 24 PDH September 30 odd years No credit will be given for courses in practice building or office management.
South Carolina 30 PDH June 30 of even years
South Dakota 30 PDH Biennially; based on the date of original licensure
  • A maximum of 10 PDH can be earned in professional management subjects, such as total quality process, computer courses, or ethics.
  • At least 20 PDH must be earned in technical areas.
Tennessee 24 PDH Biennially; based on the date of original licensure At least 13 of the 24 PDH must address health, safety, and welfare issues and technical competency.
Texas 15 PDH March 31, June 30, September 30, or December 31 based on the initial date of licensure
  • At least 1 PDH must be earned in professional ethics, roles and responsibilities of professional engineering, or review of the Texas Engineering Practice Act and Board Rules.
  • A maximum of 5 PDH can be earned through self-directed study. Examples of self-directed study given by the Board include reading up on a new topic, researching a new design, or keeping up with current engineering periodicals.
Utah 30 PDH December 31 of even-numbered years
Virginai 16 PDH Biennially; based on the date of original licensure
West Virginia 15 PDH June 30 every year
Wisconsin 30 PDH July 31 of even-numbered years
  • A minimum of 2 PDH must be earned in the area of ethics.
  • A minimum of 13 PDH must be earned in activities that permit live interaction between the engineer and instructor, such as webinars or lunch & learns.
Wyoming 30 PDH December 31 every 2 years based on the initial year of licensure

Nearly forty U.S. states now require continuing education for engineers to maintain licensure. And, several others have new regulations pending that will take effect soon. Click on the links below to check your state’s PDH requirements.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search